Five Dollar Chairs

chair1Now that we have moved to a bigger place, we have a lot of space to fill due to our stunted adulthood, and my bohemian, slash, all-of-my-adult- belongings-in-the-trunk-of-my-car, lifestyle. So, I’ve been on the hunt for much needed items to fill this empty space. I found these hideous chairs that happen to have good structure and wheels, so they could potentially provide extra seating in another part of the house should we ever get super crazy and have people over.
chair2<I found them at the Goodwill and they were priced at $9.99, but I was there on a Saturday when everything happened to be half off, so I got both chairs for ten dollars. With some new fabric, and a little elbow grease, we will have the chairs we need for a seating area in our kitchen. I found the fabric, and this weekend I tore into them. Here is how I did it:
1. Take the chair apart.chair7<chair11

2. Remove the fabric. I labeled the fabric parts first, so I wouldn’t get them mixed up.chair14chair9chair13chair17
3.Iron out the old fabric pieces (especially at the seam), so that you can use them as a pattern.
chair18
4. Trace the old fabric pieces onto the new fabric.
chair19chair20
5. Sew the pieces to slip onto the chairs. If you don’t know how to sew, you can sort of mold the fabric onto the chairs the way that you like, and staple in place.chair23chair26chair29chair21
6. Slip the sewn pieces onto the chair pieces, and staple in place with a staple gun, at the bottom, underside of the chair.
7. Re-assemble the chair
chair31
You can feel for the screw holes through the fabric and make a little incision.
chair11chair10

We now have two new chairs for our empty kitchen space.chair4 chair32</achair5chair3
The moral of the story, is that I really need a manicure and a dip in paraffin wax for a good three days. Yikes! My hands look old!

One thought on “Five Dollar Chairs

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Chairs Makeover | Crazywonderfullife

Leave a Reply

